## Meeting #1

Lyndhurst, NJ April 26, 2010

The Lyndhurst Board of Education held a Reorganization meeting on April 26, 2010 at 7:25 p.m.

## Call to Order

Joseph Abate, Jr., Superintendent of Schools/School Business Administrator/ Board Secretary called the meeting to order at 7:25 p.m. and requested all those present to stand for the Pledge of Allegiance.

### Roll Call

The following Board members answered roll call: (9) William Barnaskas, Louis Bilis, James Cunniff, Thomas DiMascio, Ronald Grillo, James Hooper, Christine Melleno, Stephen Vendola, Ellen Young.

Also present: Joseph Abate, Jr., Superintendent of Schools, School Business Administrator, Board Secretary; Dr. Tracey Stellato, Assistant Superintendent of Schools; Valerie Troncone, Finance Manager.

# Open Public Meeting Act

Joseph Abate, Jr., announced that adequate notice of this meeting was provided, in writing, to each Board member, The Herald and News, The Record, The Leader, the Township Clerk and posted in the lobby of the Town Hall and the Board Office.

### REORGANIZATION

### Nomination and Election of President

Motion by Stephen Vendola second by William Barnaskas

1. To nominate James Hooper as President of the Board of Education.

Roll Call For: (8) William Barnaskas, Louis Bilis, James Cunniff, Thomas DiMascio, Ronald Grillo, Christine Melleno, Stephen Vendola, Ellen Young. Abstain: (1) James Hooper

### Nomination and Election of Vice-President

Motion by Thomas DiMascio second by William Barnaskas

2. To nominate Ronald Grillo as Vice-President of the Board of Education.

Roll Call For: (8) William Barnaskas, Louis Bilis, James Cunniff, Thomas DiMascio, Christine Melleno, Stephen Vendola, Ellen Young, James Hooper. Abstain: (1) Ronald Grillo

Any Board member who takes exception to any of the following listed actions may so indicate now and a separate motion for each of the excepted action will be entertained.

Motion made by Thomas DiMascio second by Ronald Grillo

Roll Call For: (9) William Barnaskas, Louis Bilis, James Cunniff, Thomas DiMascio, Ronald Grillo, Christine Melleno, Stephen Vendola, Ellen Young, James Hooper

3. BE IT RESOLVED, that the monthly meeting of the Board of Education of the Township of Lyndhurst for the year beginning May 2009 and ending April 2010 or until such other time as the legislature may designate shall be held in the following places. The work meeting of the Board will be held at 7:00 p.m., the second Monday of each month in the Lyndhurst High School Auditorium, and the regular public meeting will be held at 8:00 p.m. The next meeting of the Board will be on Monday, May 11, 2009.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that written notice of such meeting be forwarded to all Board members, The Leader, The Record, The Herald and News, the Township Clerk, and notices be posted in the Town Hall and the bulletin board of the central office as well as the Lyndhurst Board of Education website.

Motion made by Ellen Young second Ronald Grillo

Roll Call For: (9) William Barnaskas, Louis Bilis, James Cunniff, Thomas DiMascio, Ronald Grillo, Christine Melleno, Stephen Vendola, Ellen Young, James Hooper

4. BE IT RESOLVED, that the By-Laws, Regulations and Policies and all negotiated labor agreements heretofore adopted by the former Board of Education shall remain in full force and effect until such time as this Board of Education, in its opinion, shall deem it necessary to amend or rescind any part of the same in the best interests of our school system.

## Personnel

Any Board member who takes exception to any of the following listed actions under the category of Personnel may so indicate now and a separate motion for each of the excepted actions will be entertained.

Motion made by Ronald Grillo second by Thomas DiMascio that the following actions of the Board numbered 1 through 1 exception actions be adopted.

Roll Call For: (9) William Barnaskas, Louis Bilis, James Cunniff, Thomas DiMascio, Ronald Grillo, Christine Melleno, Stephen Vendola, Ellen Young, James Hooper.

1. BE IT RESOLVED, that the Lyndhurst Board of Education accept the following retirement, with regret.

Joseph Abate, Jr. Effective July 1, 2010 Superintendent of Schools, School Business Admin., Board Secretary

Janice Martin Effective June 30, 2010

Director of Special Services

Kathy Stopherd Effective June 30, 2010

Principal, Franklin School

Cynthia Settembrino Effective July 1, 2010

Roosevelt School Teacher, Grade 5

#### **Public Comments**

None

# <u>Adjournment</u>

Motion by Thomas DiMascio second by Christine Melleno and unanimously carried, the meeting was adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph Abate, Jr.
Superintendent of Schools
School Business Administrator
Board Secretary