The Lighthouse Receives Overwhelming Awards!


We are so proud of these students and commend them for their outstanding contributions to The Lighthouse and the field of scholastic journalism.


Winning 35 individual entry awards and 10 first place awards shows significant progress since last year, when individuals on The Lighthouse staff won 31 awards in total and five first place awards.


Also, individual students on the staff earned a total of 35 individual entry awards for their writing, photography, artwork, and layout.


GSSPA Awards for 2017-2018 school year:


First Place Awards:

Zully Arias, Sports

Reporting Team: Zully Arias, Rachel Bocage, Brianna Giaimis, Adam Herabi, In-Depth Reporting

Emma Chloe Caamano, Reviews

Jillian Cancela (LHS Graduate), Photography

Jillian Cancela and Adam Herabi, Layout & Design

Alyssa Capasso. Editorial Cartooning

Jared Gabriel, Columns

Alexis Gerbasio, Editorial

Adriana Vazquez, Opinion

Kelly Weckstein. Art & Illustration


Second Place Awards:

Paul Cimicata, Columns

Jenna Freitas, Artwork/Illustration

Jared Gabriel, Opinion

Alexis Gerbasio, Editorial

Giana Glover, Sports

Joana Kapaj, Newswriting

Ruby Rodrigues, Photography

Kelly Weckstein, Editorial Cartooning


Third Place Awards:

Zully Arias, Columns

Alexa Barreiros, Reviews

Marilyn Remo, Newswriting

Ruby Rodrigues, Photography

Kelly Weckstein, Artwork/Illustration


Honorable Mention:

Emma Chloe Caamano, Column

Emma Chloe Caamano, Review

Jared Gabriel, Opinion

Jared Gabriel, Reviews

Alexis Gerbasio, Editorial

Somaia Hassan, Sports

Carley Martin, Sports

Adriana Vazquez, Opinion

Frankie Venezia, Sports

Back to School News     Print News Article
SchoolPointe logo